Wilko appoints Chris Martin as non-executive director


Wilko is pleased to announce the appointment of Chris Martin as non-executive director.

Martin is currently chief executive of Musgrave Group. He joined the Musgrave Main Board in 2003. Under Chris’ direction, the business has focused strongly on partnering with entrepreneurial retailers and innovative food suppliers to develop the retail, wholesale, and foodservice business. Today, Musgrave operates 11 market leading brands across the island of Ireland and Spain.

Prior to joining Musgrave, Martin had developed a strong and lengthy career in retail and leisure including CEO of Mothercare plc, Group Finance Director of Storehouse plc and various roles in ASDA and Pizza Hut.

Commenting on the appointment, family director and chair of WHSL, Lisa Wilkinson said: “We’re proud we’re a family owned group and the refreshingly different way this enables us to do business. Chris’ significant commercial expertise and first-hand experience at the helm of a highly successful sixth generation family business will help us to stay true to our roots while we continue on our transformational journey to become a product-led business.”

Speaking about his new appointment, Martin said: “I’m delighted to be joining wilko as a non-executive director and chair of the audit and risk committee. Wilko is a much-loved brand with strong family values and I’m looking forward to working with Lisa and the team to help ensure the business is well positioned to accomplish its mission to free up hard-working families to be the best they can be.”

This senior appointment comes as wilko announces further appointments to strengthen its leadership team. Chief commercial officer, Andrew Moore, is being appointed as executive managing director of wilko retail limited and as director and chair of wilko worldwide limited, Lisa Wilkinson as Chair and Jerome Saint-Marc Director and transformation managing director of both wilko brands limited and wilko digital limited.

Martin joins wilko in January 2020.