Cherry London in partnership with Malibu Rum honoured for ‘Malibutique’ campaign

Carr: awards host

Carr: awards host

The Chartered Institute of Marketing (CIM) has announced the winner of its annual Marketing Excellence Awards in the FMCG and Retail categories. Cherry London, in partnership with Malibu Rum, scooped the prize for its Malibutique campaign.

The campaign leverages Malibu’s advertising and product assets to create a virtual girls’ dressing room and pop-up experiential tour with high-profile bands in hair, nails and fashion, with partners including ASOS, TONI&GUY, Look magazine and Nails Inc.

The campaign helped to significantly shift consumer perception of Malibu and in turn drive engagement, perception and sales, and was selected from a shortlist of 10, beating stiff competition from finalists including previous award winners RKCR/Y&R, the Co-operative Group and 3663.

The Marketing Excellence Awards, hosted this year by comedian Jimmy Carr, champion outstanding work from across the marketing profession, and celebrate the year’s most creative campaigns that set the standard for marketers in 2014.

CIM chief executive, Anne Godfrey, said: “This year’s Marketing Excellence Awards are representative of the huge levels of creativity demonstrated by marketers across a wide range of business sectors, from technology and finance to media and retail. Our research shows that marketers are confident about the year ahead and the incredibly high standard of submissions to the awards this year suggests this confidence is justified.”

“The shortlisted FMCG and Retail entries showcased real creative excellence and each and every entrant has demonstrably added value to their organisation.”

The Marketing Team of the Year award was handed to the TMF Group, for its ‘Operation: Marketing Turnaround’ campaign, which was acknowledged as a brave initiative to restructure the team through outstanding leadership and tremendous team engagement. Heidi Taylor was named Marketer of the Year for her work as Head of Marketing, Government & Public Sector at PricewaterhouseCoopers

All winners are available to view here: