Incoming Tesco CEO announces new executive committee

Philip Clarke has announced the make up of his executive committee to take effect on 1 March 2011 when he succeeds Sir Terry Leahy as group chief executive of Tesco.

“I am delighted that I have been able to bring together such a strong team which possesses the right blend of talent and experience needed to drive the company forward and take it to a new level. This is a formidable group of people with an enviable range of talents gleaned over many years in Tesco and other organisations, both in the UK and overseas,” said Clarke.

Chaired by Clarke, the executive committee exists to run the company below the board. “Given that the size and scope of the business has grown enormously in recent years, it is now the right time to enlarge it,” he said.

Seven new members will join the committee. They are:

  • Gordon Fryett, who will take responsibility for property strategy for the group
  • Alison Horner, the recently appointed group personnel director
  • Trevor Masters, who is responsible for operations in Czech, Hungary, Poland, Slovakia and Turkey
  • Mike McNamara, who is appointed today as chief information officer with responsibility for both IT strategy and operations across the group
  • Bob Robbins, recently appointed chief operating officer of the UK business
  • Ken Towle, recently appointed internet retailing director
  • Laura Wade-Gery, recently appointed commercial director for UK Clothing, electronics and general merchandise.

Fryett, Horner, Masters and McNamara will report directly to Clarke; Robbins and Wade-Gery, whose responsibilities are in the UK, will report to Richard Brasher; and Towle, who will operate within the services area, will report to Andrew Higginson.

Tesco is planning to appoint a group commercial director who is also expected to join the committee.