The Vegetarian Cookery School announces 2014 Chef of the Future winner in National Vegetarian Week


The Vegetarian Society’s cookery school, Cordon Vert, is pleased to announce that the winner of the Chef of the Future 2014 competition is Gavin Kellett, Head Chef at the Manor House, Godalming.

On hearing that he had won the coveted title Kellett said: “I’m really glad to get the opportunity to showcase my skills and demonstrate how creative, tasty and exciting vegetarian menus can be. I’m also happy that a lot of my ingredients were foraged and very much reflected my own style.”

Cordon Vert’s principal tutor, Alex Connell, said: “Congratulations to Gavin Kellett on winning the title Chef of the Future 2014. Gavin had clearly spent considerable time thinking through his menu. The presentation of the dishes was to the highest standard as was the flavour. Gavin typifies what the competition is all about showing that vegetarian food is delicious, interesting and imaginative.”

The winning menu

Gavin Kellett – Head Chef at the Manor House, Godalming.

• Crispy hearts of palm, shiitake mushroom duxelles, aubergine chutney, pomegranate molasses caviar, broad beans, Brighton blue, red onion and crisp lotus root.

• Nettles with asparagus and garlic stinging nettle pasta, white and green asparagus, roasted, wild and confit black garlic, liquid nettle spheres and home grown borage flowers.

• Warm carrot cake, cream cheese sorbet, carrot three ways, raisin pulp, crystallised walnuts and rapeseed oil powder.

The final saw five contestants – Gavin Kellett from Godalming, Jonathon Tite from Sheffield, Olivia West from Oxford, Ryan Martin from Gleneagles and Sam Longthorn from Knutsford – battle it out to produce a three course vegetarian meal, plated for four people, within three hours.

The judging panel consisted of Alex Connell, Cordon Vert Principal Tutor, Damien Davenport owner Bistro 1847, Robert Higginson Chef of Cresta Court Hotel, Altrincham and Gary Ashley private chef and past Chef of the Future winner 2012 and 2013.